Regardless of what you got, you can have More

27 12 2009

Please read Acts 20:17-38

Paul knows that he must continue his missionary travels.  He also knows that this is the last time he will see these brothers and sisters this side of heaven.  Reminding them of their days together maturing and growing in the Lord, Paul now says Watch out!  You have hard days ahead.  Keep the faith.  Trust in Jesus and His words.  Live as I have lived, pursuing Christ and proclaiming His love to all you meet.

I don’t know anyone who enjoys saying “Goodbye” to those they love and care for; especially when you know it’s for the last time.  I know that when I got the call that my grandma had been rushed to the emergency room with congestive heart failure, I thought of of how much I wanted to see her again.  I thought of all the things we hadn’t said or done.  I thought of how much I longed for her to be with us forever.  Instead, God took her to His kingdom.  My memories of Grandma are good and challenging to me as I mature in my faith.  She set a high standard for living, not because she ever put herself above others, but because she served others through, and due to her love for God.  Grandma’s memories cry out, “Stand tall for the faith.  Don’t let the wolves tear you away.  Love and serve others in His name and you will see fulfillment.”

God created us holy beings.  He intends for us all to be holy.  He’s made a way for us to be holy but our selfishness and pride tears us away from that reality and will continue to get in the way of our experience of His holiness if we allow it to do so.  We must submit ourselves to His will every moment of the day, overcoming our dependence on possessions, wealth, self-reliance and pride.  As Paul and the New Testament church experienced we will know God’s love and purity in its fullness if we allow Him to maintain control in our lives.  His hand will never lead us astray. Trust Him today.


Actions

Information

One response

2 01 2010
Robert

Amen!

Such a great reminder to put in perspective what’s eternal and what’s not.

Prayerfully.

Leave a comment